Anbarasu Manivannan


Ph.D. Department of Instrumentation, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore,2008

B.E. Bharathiar University, Coimbatore ,2000

044-2257 4412

  • Development of high speed non-volatile Phase Change Memory.
  • Ovonic selector devices for vertically stackable cross-point arrays.
  • Novel vertically stackable high density Phase Change Memory.
  • Phase change materials for Photonic applications.
  • Phase change logic device.
  • Phase change synaptic device.
  • Universal Memory concepts.

  • Young Scientist Research Award (2013) by Advanced Technology committee,Board of Research in Nuclear Sciences, DAE, Government of India.
  • Alexander von Humboldt Post Doctoral Fellowship by AvH foundation, Germany, to carryout research work during 01-07-2009->31-08-2011 at Institute of Physics (I-A), RWTH Aachen Technological University, Germany.
  • Dr Srinivasa Rao Krishnamurthy Medal for the Best Ph D, Thesis (2007-2008) at the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.
  • Best paper award in the Emerging Technology area, ET conference, June 2007, Applied materials Inc, California, USA.
  • Best paper award, in the Conference of Research Scholars on Materials Science and Engineering (CRSMSE) August 2003 at IIT Kharagpur.

    Current Courses

  • EE6362 Advanced topics in Microelectronics & MEMS (Jan-May 2019)

    Previous Courses

  • Courses taught at IIT Indore (2012-2018)
  • EE309 Electrical Measurements and Instrumentation
  • (Summer 2012, Autumn 2016, Autumn 2017).
  • EE415 Electronic Instrumentation (Autumn 2012).
  • EE301 Microprocessors & Lab (Autumn 2012, Autumn 2013).
  • EE301N Microprocessors & Digital Systems Design & Lab
  • (Autumn 2014, Autumn 2015, Autumn 2016).
  • EE104 Basic Electrical and Electronics Engineering & Lab
  • (Spring 2014, Spring 2015, Spring 2016, Spring 2017).
  • EE204 Analog circuits (Spring 2018).
  • EE428/628 Advanced Memory Technology (New course developed by Dr M Anbarasu)
  • (Spring 2014, Spring 2015, Spring 2016, Spring 2017, Spring 2018).
  • EE635 VLSI Technology (Autumn 2017).


  • N Saxena, R Raghunathan and M Anbarasu, A scheme for enabling the ultimate speed of threshold switching in phase change memory devices, Scientific Reports 11, 6111 (2021).
  • Y E B Vidhya, P Arvind, M Anbarasu, N J Vasa, "Influence of fluence, beam overlap and aging on the wettability of pulsed Nd3+:YAG nanosecond laser-textured Cu and Al sheets", Applied Surface Science, 548 149259 (2021).
  • S Rathinavelu; N Saxena, K D Shukla and M Anbarasu, "Rapid threshold switching dynamics of co-sputtered chalcogenide Ge15Te85 device for selector application" Semicond Sci Technol 36 015013 (2021).
  • S K Pandey and M Anbarasu, "Direct evidence for structural transformation and higher thermal stability of amorphous InSbTe phase change material", Scripta Materialia 192, 73 (2021).
  • M S Arjunan, D Suresh, Anirban Mondal, K V Adarsh, and M Anbarasu, "Realization of 4-bit Multilevel Optical Switching in Ge2Sb2Te5 and Ag5In5Sb60Te30 Phase Change Materials Enabled in the Visible Region", ACS Applied Electronic Materials 2, 3977 (2020).

Conference Proceedings

  • D Suresh, D Jayakumar, R Srinivasan and M Anbarasu, Understanding the impact of Heavy-Ion Induced Single Event Upsets in Phase Change Memory, European Phase change and Ovonics Science Symposium (EPCOS) Proceedings, p155 (2018).
  • N Saxena, C Chen, M Wuttig, M Anbarasu, Electrical conductivity and threshold switching dynamics of GeSbTe phase change memory devices, European Phase change and Ovonics Science Symposium (EPCOS) Proceedings, p137 (2017).
  • N Saxena, C Chen, M Wuttig, M Anbarasu,Ultrafast threshold switching dynamics of Ge2Sb2Te5 phase change memory device, Proc of 17th Non-volatile Memory Tech Sym NVMTS p133 (2017).
  • S K Pandey and M Anbarasu, Investigation on In3SbTe2 phase change material for multi-bit data storage applications European Phase change and Ovonics Science Symposium (EPCOS) Proceedings, p132 (2016).
  • Smriti Sahu, Uday Deshpande, Vasant Sathe, M Anbarasu, A Low Temperature Study on Optical Bandgap and Vibrational Modes of Thin Ge1Sb4Te7 Films, European Phase change and Ovonics Science Symposium (EPCOS) Proceedings, p149 (2015).
  • M Anbarasu, Smriti Sahu, M Santosh Kumar, Kumaraswamy Miriyala and R Ranjith, An Extremely Low Power Threshold Switching of Thin Ge15Te85 Films using Conductive Atomic Force Microscopy (C-AFM) European Phase change and Ovonics Science Symposium (EPCOS) Proceedings, p105 (2014).
  • Gaurav Bishnoi, K Harish Kumar, Krishna Dayal Shukla, M Anbarasu, LabVIEW controlled ultrafast programmable electrical tester for nanoscale device characterization Proceedings of 2nd International conference on intelligent robotics, automation and manufacturing (IRAM) Emerald Group Publishing Limited, p241-248, (2013).
  • M Anbarasu, Pascal Rausch, Peter Zalden, Hanno Volker, J Y Raty, R Mazzarello and Matthias Wuttig, Local structure and physical properties of In3SbTe2: Characterizing a member of a fourth family of phase change materials European Phase change and Ovonics Science Symposium (EPCOS) Proceedings, p212, (2011).
  • M Anbarasu and S Asokan, Investigations on Ge-Te-Si glasses and their suitability for phase change memory applications, European Phase change and Ovonics Science Symposium (EPCOS) Proceedings, E01, (2009).
  • S Asokan, S D Savransky, Pulok Pattanayak and M Anbarasu, Functionally Expanded Phase-Change Memory: Experiments on Light Influence on Threshold Voltage IEEE Non-Volatile Memory Technology Symposium, ISBN: 0-7803-9408-9, 69 (7-10 Nov 2005).


  • M Anbarasu, K D Shukla, N Saxena, Ultrafast Programmable Electrical Test System, Indian Patent, No 201721016295 (2017).
  • I A Palani, A K Shukla, K Akash, M Anbarasu, V Singh, A dual axis continuous solar tracking system using shape memory alloy bimorph based solar panel, Indian Patent, 201721026063 (2017)
  • Kaushal K Singh, Nety M Krishna, Om Nalamasu, S Asokan, M Anbarasu, A K Sood, Sudakshina Prusty, Ge-Te-Si glasses for Phase Change Random Access Memory (PCRAM) applications PCT filed (2008).

Books Authored

  • M Anbarasu and S Asokan; Title: The Effects of Rigidity Percolation and Manifestation of Intermediate Phase in Chalcogenide Glasses Revealed by Electrical Switching Studies Title of book: Rigidity Transitions and Boolchand Intermediate Phases in Nano- materials Series: Optoelectronic materials and devices, volume 6 INOE 2009 Editors: M Micoulaut and M Popescu

  • Professor (July 2021 - till date): Department of Electrical Engineering, IIT Madras
  • Associate Professor (Dec 2018-July 2021): Department of Electrical Engineering, IIT Madras.
  • Associate Professor (June 2016-Dec 2018): Discipline of Electrical Engineering, IIT Indore.
  • Assistant Professor (March 2012-June 2016): Discipline of Electrical Engineering, IIT Indore.
  • Post-Doctoral Fellow (Sep 2011-Feb 2012): Institute of Physics (I-A), RWTH Aachen University, Germany.
  • Alexander von Humboldt Post-Doctoral Fellow (Sep 2009-Aug 2011): Institute of Physics (I-A), RWTH Aachen University, Germany (Host: Prof Dr Matthias Wuttig).
  • Post-Doctoral Fellow (Oct-Nov 2008): Physics Dept, Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, UK (UKIERI Project jointly with IISc).
  • Research Associate (Oct 2007-May 2009): Dept of Instrumentation, IISc Bangalore.

© 2023-All rights reserved.DEPARTMENT OF Electrical Engineering || Website Credits